RtC: Heavy Metal Mater

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RtC: Heavy Metal Mater

With the recent release of the Walmart exclusive Heavy Metal Mater 3 pack, I thought it would be good to take a look at the Toons released in the Heavy Metal Mater Tall Tale... Heavy Metal Mater is one of my favorites - maybe it's because I have been a musician... maybe not... all I know is that I like Cars, I like Mater's Tall Tales, and I like Heavy Metal Mater... in this installment of Respect the Classics, we'll look at Heavy Metal Mater.

A few years ago Mattel released a Mater's Tall Tales Heavy Metal Mater 4 pack... if I remember right, this was a Target exclusive and was the first 4 pack to retail for $29.99; previously, the 4 packs had been $19.99... my friend indykjt from Nathan's Playroom bought one for me at an Indy area Target store:

Actually, he might have gotten me 2 of them, as I have one opened and one carded... as you see in the above photo, the set included Heavy Metal Mater, Heavy Metal Lightning McQueen, and 2 pittys - bass player Eddie, and guitarist Rocky... the pittys were also released as a 2 pitty single, and Heavy Metal Lightning McQueen was also released as a single... somewhere I have them carded... the only way to get Heavy Metal Mater was in the 4 pack... I did not buy the other 4 pack that was released in the case because $30 for a 4 pack was too expensive in my opinion.

I just noticed that Eddie's bass guitar has MATER spelled out on the neck:

Heavy Metal Lightning McQueen featured some leather-look accessories:

And here's Heavy Metal Mater, in leather as well:

I didn't really pay much attention to these until the release this week of the Walmart exclusive Heavy Metal Mater 3 pack: